Statement of Purpose

I’m working on becoming a better teacher. I also cannot stop ruminating about, and seeking answers regarding, big questions about what it means to be a productive human being and what education is all about.

Like many teachers I am actively learning more about implementing such pedagogical elements as whiteboarding, modelinginquirybased active learningstudent-generated questions, and standards-based grading.

Unless/until I have pressing breakthroughs or questions about these subjects, you won’t find much commentary on them in this blog. Instead, my focus will be on the approaches, attitudes, and methods that are conducive to advancing the culture of education systems.

Maybe that sounds broad. In my four years of teaching experience, I’ve been able to participate in educational discourse about pedagogy (which is awesome!). However, a too-small fraction of these conversations have been about building collective vision of long-term transformation.

Yes, all teachers I talk with want their students to be life long learners. And it is certainly arguable that the pedagogical elements linked above help meet this goal. I simply want to keep discourse about education’s overarching goals, and about how well they are being met, at the forefront.

Leave a Reply

